Exciting Happenings in 2012

One thing I’ve learned over the course of my career is to not spill any beans too early.  This means new music, new collaborations, new projects and so forth. It’s better to keep mum on most things until you are certain. Oh and yes I have been guilty of spilling beans way too early before, and whoops lesson learned.

However, I do have several things to share with you now. I’ve definitely been working on a few tricks up my sleeve over the past several months and am finally in a position where I think I’m ready to tell you about it all. I’ve got lots of beans to spill!!  I’m practically bursting at the seams.

So here’s the spill…All the good stuff happening in 2012 that I feel I can now finally share with you:

MUSIC VIDEOS!

I’m excited to share that I will be filming my first music video in a couple of months. We’re trying to align it with my new CD release which will be late June.

This music video project will not be the sole release either. We have plans to do multiple videos over the next year, featuring many of the songs going on my album, as well as some singles as well.

My collaborator in this project is the very talented filmmaker Ali Mohsenian.  Ali is an award winning filmmaker from Seattle and not only does he have quite a little rapport here in the city, but he is also an ex-Sony music video producer/editor. And he told me that as long as at some point he can put explosives in my videos, he will be happy. Ha-ha…we shall see.

The first video will be for the title track “Illumination”.  Our budget will be tiny-sized to start with, but hopefully if the video thing works out well maybe someday we can afford to put grand pianos in really cool locations, and of course, use explosives. :)

COLLABORATIONS!

I’m really excited about some upcoming collaborations that I will be working on.  Even though I am a solo artist, I do enjoy a good collab every now and then.  This year I will be doing some extensive collaboration (walking on untrodden ground here!) and here is the scoop…

Felicia Farerre

Felicia is one of the most amazing vocalists I have worked with, or heard for that matter.  She has the ability to sing any type of music, any genre – and nail it every time.  I have had the pleasure of working with Felicia a few times thus far, and she is not only incredibly gifted with her voice, but she is a very sweet and lovely person whom I very much enjoy being around!

We plan to collaborate on a few songs for an upcoming album for her.  Right now we are in the planning stages, and figuring out what we want to do with the music.  With her being in Oregon, and me in Washington, we will be close enough to meet up several times for recording and more. Felicia and I love working together and are very excited about the future prospects for us as co-collaborators.

Viktoria Tocca

Viktoria and I were both nominees at last year’s Hollywood Music in Media Awards – and she took home the win for the Classical Category (as well as a few others).  We recently have gotten to know each other and I have to say – there is SO much in common between us both personally and professionally it’s crazy.

We have both decided to work together this year on at least one or two songs (possibly more), with also the possibility of doing a music video as well.  But we shall see on that one.  Where can I set up a donation jar for music video production costs, please? :)

Viktoria is from Sweden, currently lives in Romania.  So getting together is going to be a bit more difficult. There is so much that we can do online long distance, but it might be that she ends up making a little trip to Seattle (or perhaps I will go to Europe??!) She has an extensive musical theater background, and is now concentrating on writing and recording.  Here is her rendition of “Dark Waltz” (that won the HMMA). So excited for the future and our projects and friendship together!

CONCERTS!

I’ve very much been in the composing & recording phase for the past while – and that excludes any concentration on performing for me.  But I do plan to do some performing after the release of my new album.

The only “official” concert I have lined up right now is for Wed, Sept 5th at Cozy Corner Concert Series in Salt Lake City,UT.  You can get your tickets online here.

I want to do a CD release concert and am just trying to figure out when and where I will do that.  Seattle?  SLC? Both?  Hmmm.

SUBMISSIONS

Another exciting prospect I am waiting to hear back on is my submission for the Hilary Hahn 27 Encores project.  I wrote a little piece for this and am crossing my fingers that she will select mine to perform on her album and concert tour 2012 – 2013.  If selected, I will have premieres around the world, as well as a recording spot on the album.

If you’re not familiar with Hilary Hahn, get acquainted straight away right here.

ALBUM RELEASE

Last but not least, I have a new album coming out as you all know.  I have been working on this album for the last 4 years and am so excited to soon be able to share it with you. It is looking like a late June release.

I will be accepting Pre-Orders for the album beginning April 15th, and there is a prize drawing (worth $350) for the lucky pre-orderer. :)

Since I’m not able to share the music with you quite yet, I thought I would give you a sneak peek of the track listing going on the liner notes of the album.  Are you excited?

1. Etude For the Dreamer 
Original music and orchestration by Jennifer Thomas
Beats and additional orchestration by Glen Gabriel

2. After the Storm 
Dedicated to Dixie – After all the storms she has had in her life, she still shines so brightly. 
Original music and orchestration by Jennifer Thomas

3. Illumination 
Original music and orchestration by Jennifer Thomas
Beats and additional orchestration by Glen Gabriel

4. Gymnopedie No. 1 
“Gymnopedie No. 1″ by Erik Satie
Arranged and orchestrated by Jennifer Thomas

5. New Life 
Original music and orchestration by Jennifer Thomas

6. Beyond the Summit 
For my Will – who’s many mountain adventures were on my mind while composing
this piece of music. 

Original music and orchestration by Jennifer Thomas

7. Secrets 
“Secrets” by Ryan Tedder (OneRepublic)
Theme from “Cello Suite in G Major” by Johann Sebastian Bach
Arranged and orchestrated by Jennifer Thomas
Cello solo by Stephanie Yose
Beats and effects by Glen Gabriel

8. Into the Forest
Original music and orchestration by Jennifer Thomas
Vocals by Felicia Farerre
Beats and effects by Glen Gabriel

9. Toccata and Fugue 
“Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565″ by Johann Sebastian Bach
Arranged and orchestrated by Jennifer Thomas
Beats and additional orchestration by Glen Gabriel
Additional Beats/Effects by Adam Amos

10. Pachelbel’s Canon (A Duet) 
“Canon in D” by Johann Pachelbel
Arranged and orchestrated for 1 piano/4 hands by Jennifer Thomas

11. Firedance 
“Asturias” by Isaac Albéniz
” Malagueña ” by Ernesto Lecuona
Arranged and orchestrated by Jennifer Thomas

12. Sonata Minoré 
“Piano Sonata, Op.7, Mov. 2″ by Ludwig Van Beethoven
Arranged and orchestrated by Jennifer Thomas

13. Rainforest 
Original music and orchestration by Jennifer Thomas
Vocals by Rachelle Hrncirik

14. Across the Starlit Sky
Original music and orchestration by Jennifer Thomas

15. Requiem For a Dream (Lux Aeterna)
“Requiem For a Dream (Lux Aeterna)” by Clint Mansell
Arranged and orchestrated by Jennifer Thomas
Beats and effects by Glen Gabriel

16. Eventide
Original Music and orchestration by Jennifer Thomas
“Scheherazade” violin theme by Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov
Violin solo performed by Jennifer Thomas

17. New World Symphony 
“Symphony No. 9 in E Minor – Largo” (New World Symphony) by Antonin Dvořák
“Piano Concerto No. 3, Mov. 2″ by Sergei Rachmaninoff
Arranged and orchestrated by Jennifer Thomas
Violin solo by Jennifer Thomas

Produced by Jennifer Thomas
All songs composed and/or arranged by Jennifer Thomas
Piano performed by Jennifer Thomas
Violin, and Orchestration – Jennifer Thomas
Cello – Stephanie Yose
Vocals – Rachelle Hrncirik, Felicia Farerre 

Mixed and mastered by Rob Beaton 
Recording and additional engineering – Zak Dewey 
Beats/FX – Glen Gabriel
Additional beats on Toccata and Fugue by Adam Amos

Recorded at Tickled Ivory Studios, Seattle, WA
and ZDPro Studios, Brier, WA

© 2012 Tickled Ivory Music (ASCAP)
Distributed by Tickled Ivory Music, Seattle, WA.